JT Version Issues

Does anyone out there have a grasp on what’s going on with the JT file versions?

According to the files themselves, here are the versions of the JT files I have: 8.0 (lots), 8.2, 9.0, 9.1, 9.3, and 9.4. I get pretty decent results from most of the 8.0 files and the 9.0 files. Meanwhile, the two released versions of the JT file standard are labeled 8.1 and 9.5. In other words, I don’t have any JT files that are actually for the exact versions covered by the standard documents.

Meanwhile, ISO/DIS 14306 is an ISO version of the JT standard, apparently based on the 8.1 standard. But the document is 200+ pages longer than the JT 8.1 spec. I think it might include the XT spec, but that’s only approximately 125 pages in the latest version I have. (Though both JT and XT strike me as a bit on the vague side compared to STEP! Maybe they’ve actually defined how things work instead of just vaguely hinting at it.)

Does anyone out there have a solid grasp on the current state of JT? Are most people using 9.5? Or is the ISO standard going to freeze things back closer to 8.1?

(PS I’ve solved the Arithmetic Codec issue I was having, but I don’t have the brainpower tonight to sit down and describe the solution. Of course, now I’ve got a serious Huffman coding issue.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to JT Version Issues

  1. Brandon says:

    Any chance you continued this blog elsewhere? I’ve inherited a JT reader/renderer that currently only handles mesh data from JT 8.0. Do you have any tips, or did you ever choose to open source your code? I’m currently finding Siemens decided to pull the spec for every version except 9.5.

    • colomon says:

      I did not continue the blog elsewhere. I’ve just ignored JT for the last few years.

      But, the good (?) news here is I’m back at work on it. I will try to do a new blog post this week.

  2. Pingback: Resuming JT Work | Just Trouble

Leave a Reply

